Why you dirty little…

Dear Friends & Readers,

I must admit Valet Boy was surprised by some of the reactions to the announcement that come the 1 year anniversary of this blog, VB would be signing off to work on other “literary” projects. (I use the term literary rather loosely)

It gladdened my heart to know that VB would be missed and that in some small way my weekly forays into the blog-o-sphere had touched some of you to the point that you felt compelled to berate, belittle and besmirch me for my decision.   For some that sort of reaction might have been perceived as a cruel and hateful insult but not Valet Boy.

So, thank you, guys, for “the love”.

Writing a blog is certainly a challenge as each week you try to come up with interesting and pithy stories and commentary that may inform, entertain and otherwise amuse one’s readership.  When creativity is linked so closely to your state of mind and you find that your balance might be tipping into a festering morass of self-doubt, frustration, complacency and vapid insipidness…well, that’s usually a good sign that the mental edges have frayed and some vacation time is indeed on the prescription pad.

Since the re-birthing of “Confessions of a Valet Boy“, I have followed several instructional blogs dedicated to the subject of blogging.  Most seem to dictate that blogs which do not instruct, inform and serve to help the reader are doomed from the start.   That simply having a blog based upon one’s personal take on life is insufficient to sustain any appreciable long-term growth.  That may be true.  I don’t know because I’m neither a teacher nor an expert on any topic for which people might be seeking further enlightenment.

To quote the philosopher Popeye, the Sailor Man:  “I am what I am and that’s all that I am.”

But my personal favorite little truism is: “You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.”

That would be fine and dandy, and certainly enough for this sow’s ear, as long as there’s enough stimuli to warrant churning out a weekly compendium of Valet Boy’s Wit & Wisdom.  However, if the wit dries up and the wisdom becomes obfuscated or worse – non-existent….  Well, then it’s time to “water your horse at another trough”.

Hopefully, this break in the weekly routine will permit my batteries to re-charge as I focus on finishing the novel that has been hanging over my head for the last several years.  After that, perhaps I can turn my pen (or keyboard) to my Hollywood memoirs as has been suggested by so many of you.

Rest assured, I will still be around – lurking beneath the smoldering surface of a crazy world gone mad waiting to spring out with renewed literary vigor.

As for now, I’ve got to hang a bi-fold door for Mother Valet Boy’s bathroom.  This should be fun.

As Always, Thanks for Reading!

Valet Boy

About Valet Boy

Valet Boy has risen from the graveyard of forgotten blogs as an occasional hump day publication! Yes, once again Valet Boy will drag his zombie like corpse out into the rarefied faux-literary air populated by lonely but hopeful pseudo-authors with nothing better to do with all their free time than sit on their fat fannies in front of computer screens going blind....or turning Japanese...or both Anyway, thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why you dirty little…

  1. Marci donley says:

    Jim:
    Do you have a blog? Should I read it? I’m looking for something interesting and funny to read weekly.
    Sincerely,
    Marci

  2. Shawn Hooper says:

    Hiya Jimmy!

    You, like it or not, have “inspired” me. Not that i wasn’t thinking about doing a similar kind of writing any way, but your blog has lit this non-writer’s “writiness”. When I post the first of….well one at least, I will let you know.

    Thanks for the fun times!
    Shawn

  3. Anonymous says:

    THAT’S IT ! What a gip. I just started reading the damm blog….OH,…go ahead and write your book. It’ll be Spring soon and I’ll be playing GOLF every Sunday morning…
    so there.

  4. Jimbo – Good point about a blog instructive. I guess that’s how Julie got her movie made (Julie and Julia). I’m content for now to entertain. I’ve all but abandoned the premise of the “Baby Boomer.” But it sure is fun and I did get a lot of hits on YouTube with the Norm MacDonald impression. Keep the faith. – Elmo

  5. Philip Chambless says:

    Good for you VB. Keep changing. At this point, I think many of us are in the process of re-inventing ourselves….

    Love, Butch

  6. Michael Gladstone says:

    Dear VB,
    I thought my lack of a response to your Dear John letter of leaving(for surely you are fucking us) was enough of a message in itself but since you seem determined to wring the shit out of this mop of a goodbye I guess I must….
    Oh Jim, Please don’t go….Blah, Blah, Blah.
    Please, Please, We need to hear your Blog… Blah, Blah, Blah.
    Jimmy we just won’t make it without your words of….Blah, Blah, Blah.
    I personally think you just would rather be fishing.
    Possibly you could take submissions from your rabid followers and if they were up to your high standards (Curb height or above) you could publish them on your Blog during your hiatus.
    In this way you can Fish, Fart, Belch and possibly finish your novel without further inconveniencing the rest of us.
    Just a thought…..
    Love,
    Mikey

Leave a Reply

